Opposition agrees to withdraw motion of censure against ministers

File (CRH)

(CRHoy.com) .- The opposition deputies agreed, this Monday, withdraw the motion for a vote of no confidence against the 22 ministers from the cabinet of Carlos Alvarado who voted in favor of naming Ottón Solís Fallas as the country’s representative before the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD).

On Monday afternoon, the head of the National Liberation Party (PLN), María José Corrales, said that the deputies agreed to withdraw their signatures for this motion because the vote of no confidence “lost its validity” after the revocation of Solís’ appointment last week.

Corrales pointed out that at the end of the session of the Legislative Plenary on Monday, there were only 5 deputies left to withdraw their signature. The process will continue this Tuesday morning.

In their initiative last week, the proponents alleged that the ministers had breached article 4 of Law 9981, Law of ratification of the agreement on the terms of adhesion to the OECD, which states that the representative before the multilateral organization will be appointed by the Governing Council at the initiative of Comex, and that the country’s permanent delegation to the OECD will be part of that ministry.

The congressmen repudiated that the Minister of Foreign Trade, Andrés Valenciano, proposed in a session of the Governing Council on July 6 keep the former representative, Manuel Tovar, but that his proposal was not accepted.

The motion to vote of no confidence is scheduled to be discussed and voted on this Tuesday, in case it is not withdrawn.

To censor ministers of State, the Political Constitution requires the favorable votes of 2 thirds of the Plenary present.

The motion of censure is established in the Political Constitution in its article 121 subsection 24. It refers to an act of political responsibility in the event of possible unconstitutionality.

Source link